The Baha’i year, in accordance with the *Badi’* calendar, consists of nineteen months of nineteen days each, with the addition of certain intercalary days (four in an ordinary year and five in a leap year) between the eighteenth and nineteenth months in order to adjust the calendar to the solar year. The Bab named the months after certain attributes of God. The Baha’i New Year, Naw-Ruz, is astronomically fixed, coinciding with the March equinox. For further details, including the names of the days of the week and the months, see the section on the Baha’i calendar in The Baha’i World, volume XVIII.

(Baha’u’llah: Aqdas: Notes, Page: 228)

* -The Badi calendar, as described, was instituted by the Bab, forerunner of Baha’u’llah, and ratified by Him. The first day of every Baha’i ‘month’ is a community feast – described in other publications of the Faith. The Holy Days and other observances are listed below:

  • Naw-Ruz Baha’i New Year, 21 March
  • Ridvan [Declaration of Baha’u’llah] 21 Apr – 2 May
  • Declaration of the Bab, 23 May
  • Ascension of Baha’u’llah, 29 May
  • Martyrdom of the Bab, 9 July
  • Birth of the Bab, 20 Oct
  • Birth of Baha’u’llah, 12 Nov
  • Day of the Covenant, 26 Nov
  • Ascension of Abdul-Baha, 28 Nov
  • Fast [sunset to sunrise] 2-20 March